What are the Dietary Reference intakes (DRI's)

Take home message


The Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of  Science released the DRI (Dietary Reference Intakes) in 1997.  It was a joint project of the U.S. and Canada.


The HHS/USDA Dietary Guidelines contain food patterns of how to obtain sufficient nutrition without excess calories.

The DRI help scientists develop the food patterns.


The DRI provides reference intakes for individual nutrients (such vitamin K). The reports consist of  nearly 5,000 pages, summarizing what is known about how nutrients function in the body and provide "guidance on how to use the appropriate values to access and plan the diets."

What the Dietary Reference Intake numbers represent

The DRI also include the AMDR: Acceptable Macronutrient Distribution Ranges, which are the percent of energy intake for each of the 3 micronutrients (fats, carbohydrates, and proteins) that was "associated with reduced risk of chronic diseases, yet provides adequate amounts of essential nutrients."

Thank you
for reading Food4Thought.Today.

If you enjoyed it, please share it with your friends and follow it by email.  If you are viewing this on a mobile device, click on "view the web version" to access the "follow by email" options.

Share it


Institute of Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes. National Academy of Sciences, 2006.

Food and Nutrition Board and others. Recommended Dietary Allowances. National Academy Press, 1989.